Skip to content

Welcome

December 19, 2010

The sun was rising as it normally does, shinning through my window and with it the sweet sounds of my children yelling for daddy. Okay, so the sweet sounds weren’t heard at first as I was still soundly sleeping thinking about something related to food. With a slight nudge from my wife and then a forceful ‘are you getting up,’ I find my slippers, search for my pants, and make my way down the stairs by the light of my cell phone.

Most mornings start like this. And every time I find my way into the kitchen looking for something, anything, to fill our bellies. The more I thought about it, the more I realized just how important the kitchen is to my life. I spend more time in it then in any other room in my house. Okay, maybe not more then my bedroom, but it seems like it as I get up to settle early risers.

Over the years I have developed an interest, nay, an obsession, with nutrition. But not just with nutrition by itself, but with how it affects our brains, moods, and emotions. The reason this is of such interest to me is that I am also a therapist.

To that end I have decided to meld two of my passions into one blog: nutrition and mental health. In the coming days, weeks, months, and aeons, I will talk about, contemplate, and disseminate how food plays a part in mental health. In so doing, I will also share recipes (both those that worked and those that didn’t), pictures, and stories about my experiences in the kitchen.

So, welcome. Pull up a chair and tell me how are you?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2011 5:52 pm

    Congrats on your new blog! Upon scanning your posts thus far I love your thoughts and your writing. Good luck and welcome to the blogosphere!

    • The Therapist in the Kitchen permalink*
      January 1, 2011 8:03 pm

      Thank You! This is indeed very exciting. I saw your blog and love your photography. I saw that you eat a fairly raw diet. I have done this in the and never felt better. I look forward to reading more of your writing.

Leave a Reply

